Nighthawk Track team members shine in meet


Posted: Jan 14, 2022 8:00 AM

BETHEL — The Newtown High School girls’ track team swept all middle-distance and distance events in their postponed meet at Bethel High School on Jan. 8.

Emily Litke and Grace Chiriatti took first and second place in the 800 meters. Hannah Snayd and Ryann Heim-Sherwood placed first and second in the 1,000. Sophia Guevara and Abby Ihlefeld won one and two in the 600. Clara D’Amico won the 1,600 and Litke won the 3,200. ‘Ella Hall, Heim-Sherwood, Guevara and Snayd took first place, as did the 4x400m relay featuring D’Amico, Grace Lyons, Guevara and Joey Libero.

“I’m very excited about our stints after today. There are a ton of girls fighting for a spot in a relay and that’s something we haven’t had in the past. The competition within the team is great,” said coach Becky Bourret.

Jamie Adams, Kayleigh Troy, Reese Smith and Madi Singlak secured places four through seven in the 55 hurdles.

Troy came second in the high jump and pole vault. Adams placed third in the high jump and long jump, and Kaelin Rising placed third in the shot put.

“We were missing some key varsity athletes in that first show due to COVID isolations, injuries and the change in the Snow Day date, but the athletes there have really stepped up,” Bourret said.

The Nighthawks have faced other Southwestern Conference teams that they will see in their conference championships later this winter.

Between that meeting and a December 29 meeting at the Floyd Little Athletic Center in New Haven, the Nighthawks have qualified 12 athletes for the championships.

The boys’ team also showed their strength by sweeping several events.

Aidan Budge, Soheib Dissa and Colby Harrell took places two through four in the 800. Oliver Guzy was second in the 55 hurdles. Caleb Smith and Brock Dukate won first and second in the 55 dash. Cameron Whorf and Soheib Dissa had one and two points in the 600m. Whorf also earned third place in the 300m. Guzy tied for fourth in the long jump with an 18-03 jump.

The Nighthawks won the sprint medley relay consisting of Dukate, Smith, Harrell and Budge.


Comments are closed.