Ouellette and Vargas named NEC Track Athletes of the Year | Sports


You don’t need to break school records to be voted Athlete of the Year in Northeastern Conference track and field circles, but that doesn’t hurt your cause either.

from beverly Liam Ouellette and Peabody’s Savanna Vargas both have enjoyed record springs and were voted NEC Male and Female Athletes of the Year last week.

Ouellette broke a 50-year-old BHS record in the 2-mile run at 9:17 and followed that mark by running 9:14 at the Nike Nationals in Oregon last weekend. He frequently doubled the mile and 2 mile in double meets and won the mile in the NEC championship meet.

Vargas, a decorated sprinter, scored points in the 100, 200 and long jumps for undefeated league champion Tanners. She scored 28 points in the league championship meet, winning both the 100 and the long jump while running a leg of the silver medal-winning 4×100 relay. She helped break the school record in the sprint medley at the Adidas national meet last weekend in North Carolina.

The boys’ NEC All-Conference First Team winners, ranked by event, were: Sheriff LeoBeverly (high hurdles); Simon BerentsMasconomet (low hurdles), Sasha KesselMascotomet (100); Nick CapuccioWinthrop (200); Colby RochefordGloucester (400); Luke LlewellynDanvers (800), Liam OuelletteBeverly (thousand); Harrison KeeMarblehead (2 miles); Pierre GardikasPeabody (shot put); Matt RichardPeabody (javelin); mike eonDanvers (disc), Nathan MolinaMascotomet (long jump); Vincenzo VidettaSwampscott (high jump) and Brady TraskBeverly (triple jump).

The boys’ All-Conference stints were Masconomet’s 4×100 (Sasha Kessel, Nathan Molina, Owen Barrett, Will Shannon); Peabody’s 4×400 (Shaun Conrad, Marco DeSimone, Michael Perez, Alan Paulino) and Danvers’ 4×800 (Mac Eon, Chris McCrea, Kevin Rogers, Luke Llewellyn.

For the girls, the All-Conference first-team selections, ranked by event, went: Meredith PasquarosaBeverly (high hurdles); Lydia BaileyMarblehead (low hurdles), Savanna VargasPeabody (100); Olivia MerritBeverly (200); Georgia ProutyDanvers (400); Caroline MacKinnonGloucester (800), Sarah DivastaPeabody (thousand); Mia KasperowcizBeverly (2 miles); Aaliyah CallahanPeabody (shot put); Allesandra ForgionePeabody (javelin); Jessica RichardsPeabody (disc); Claire DavisMarblehead (long jump); Keira SweetmanMarblehead (high jump) and Brooklyn OdoardiMascotomet (triple jump).

The All-Conference relays for the girls were Masconomet’s 4×100 (Caroline Loesse, Lauren Baughner, Brooke Applestein, Greta Mowers), Gloucester’s 4×400 (Rose Gorleau, Sky Ciolino, Caroline MacKinnon, Caelie Patrick) and Gloucester’s 4×800 ( Whitney Turner, Kendall Newton, Mackay Brooks, Cailie Patrick).

Peabody’s Fernando Braz and Gloucester David Coleman were voted NEC Coach of the Year for boys and girls, respectively.

Earning second-team all-star nods were, ranked by team for boys and girls:

beverly: Grant Eastin, David DePietro, Vanessa Wiederhold.

Danvers: Cali Abbatessa, Emma Eagan, Aidan Drislane, Jacob Westcott, Aidan Smith.

Gloucester: Andrew Coelho, Nate Gardner, Sarah Baker, Abby Stauffer, Megan Hurd.

marble head: Cate Trautman, Devin Whalen, Ryan Thompson.

Mascotomet: Liam Gillespe, Simon Berents, Sophia Dumas, Jenna Lindsey.

Peabody: Yosmery Batista, Lindsey Wilson, Ava D’Ambrosio, Alex Jackson, Mike Perez, Logan Tracia.

Saugus: Madi Femino, Jess Bremberg, Kaeleb Mathieu.

Swampcott: Joey Do, Maddie Hudson.

winthrop: April Ferguson, Luke Riley.


Comments are closed.